Creative Work: Our Old Man at the Piano and Miriam Patchen by Dylan Jewers

Creative WorksThis week we bring you two shorter poems from Dylan Jewers, the same poet who gave us Teacher Student last week. Much like Teacher student, both of today’s poems speak on relationships between humans, whether existent or longed for, and the affects that they can have on our lives.

Our Old Man at the Piano

Last year they put a piano in the
Dartmouth ferry terminal.
It is often left alone.
It is often used by amateurs.

However, there is a childsized man
in his late 50s, early 60s,
blue jeans, old running shoes,
green coat, glasses,
shaven head,
and he plays
the most beautiful

Boogie-Woogie,

Dixieland,

Ragtime,

Classical.

Always with an applause
Always with a humble smile.
Always with a large Timmies near.

He makes going to work almost bearable.

 

Miriam Patchen

I want to find my own Miriam Patchen
To make me forget about sorrow
And tigers and war.

War doesn’t worry me much &
I’ll never live in California, but
I want a Miriam Patchen

Kiss my ears in the morning,
Smile at my jokes,
Tell me when my poems reek.

Even though pacifism is not my Philo Sophia,
Even though I was raised on the dark side of the Maritime Capital,
Even though my back is only mildly sore,

I want a Miriam Patchen to compare to the angels.

The angels have always blown me out of the sky
Back down to Earth with the ghouls
& I’m fuckin sick of ghouls, darlin’

I found that I could especially relate to “Our Old Man and the Piano” as there have been many such people in my life who have added a bit of music to my morning commute. I could definitely feel the longing in “Miriam Patchen,” however. Which of the poems did you relate to most? Tell us and any thing else you might have to say about them in the comments! And come back next week for another amazing piece.

Leave a Reply

